The Bible and Sacraments

Use these resources to explore the seven Sacraments and their Biblical basis.

icon-home » Education » Secondary Schools » The Bible and Sacraments

What are the seven Sacraments? What do they mean, and how do we celebrate them?

Catholics have seven Sacraments which all have their foundations in the Bible.
The Sacraments are divided into three groups:
Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Eucharist);
Service (Marriage and Holy Orders);
Healing (Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick).

The purpose of the seven Sacraments is to enrich our Christian faith and spiritual life, build up and affirm the body of Christ, praise and worship God, and help us practice compassion and charity to all we meet.

All celebrations of the Sacraments include the proclaiming of Scripture, and so the receiving of the Sacrament helps us deepen our relationship with the Bible.

Please download our free resource The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church here and learn more about each of the seven Sacraments and what the Bible teaches us about them.